法国和欧盟公民重返中国

重点:

 

  • 即使外籍人士因旅行禁令和航班限制无法返回中国,其在中国的住房和就业权利仍受中国法律保护。
  • 由于入境航班数量的限制,机票价格会偏高且难预订。
  • 用人单位可为必要员工申请特殊签证返回上海及其周边省份,法国和德國等一些国家的公民可以只进行48小时的隔离,无需按通常标准隔离两周。

 

中国商务已重启,全国各省正逐渐从疫情中恢复,但许多外籍员工和企业家仍被困在国外,特别是持有工作许可证的法国和欧盟公民。由于边境封锁、机场关闭和旅行限制等措施的实施(包括3月28日对外国入境者的旅行禁令和对入境航班的限制),在国际疫情控制措施解除之前,出国旅行的外籍人士可能无法返回中国。

 

在这场席卷全球政府、大使馆和国际机场的混乱中,许多人感到十分不安,因为其就业状况、法律权利和个人责任充满了不确定性。很多尚在欧洲的外籍人士不得不与其在中国的家人和爱人分离。同时,某些业务运营也需要必要员工立即返岗。

 

鉴于上述情况,我们特此告知在中国工作和经商的外籍人士,其根据就业和住房法享有不可剥夺的权利。外国员工还可通过双通道入境制度返回上海及其邻近省份,并在隔离48小时后返回工作岗位。在大多数情况下,中国的法律制度都能确保这些外籍人士能顺利返回中国,无需过分担心。

 

就业权

 

根据2020年1月通过的有关劳动权利的特别立法(《关于妥善处理新冠肺炎疫情防控期间劳动关系问题的通知》),用人单位必须继续支付因隔离措施或任何其他紧急措施而无法工作的员工的工资。人力资源和社会保障部针对用人单位发布了一份指导文件,文件表明允许按带薪休假的方式计算无法工作期间的工资,并可与员工协商延迟支付工资,在万不得已的情况下,允许公司实行无薪休假。

 

在大多数情况下,员工都能进行远程工作,因此一般不会被解雇或不支付工资,而基本最坏的情况也是无薪休假。在法律上,外籍员工被视为因疫情原因无法返回工作岗位,而非旷工,因此不得因旅行限制、封锁或隔离措施导致的无法工作而被辞退。

 

但员工需提供旅行安排和所有相关情况文件,包括机票、航班被取消的证据以及任何影响其行程的政府通知。如发生争议,政府始终以稳定就业作为协商的最高优先目标和首选方案。

 

住房权

 

若用人单位为外籍员工在中国的住房需求签署租赁合同,则无论员工是否在中国,用人单位都需为其支付租金,除非其能够与房东进行协商。因用人单位不支付租金而终止租赁的,员工无权继续居住。居住在用人单位提供的租赁住房下的外籍人士应提前与房东联系,以确保其个人财产在租约终止时能够安全收存。

 

对于自行与房东签订租约并由用人单位提供住房补贴的外籍员工,即使用人单位扣留住房补贴或拒绝补偿租金,该员工仍需根据租约条款承担每月租金。在这种情况下,外籍员工可合法地向用人单位提出索赔,但其仍需承担其在租约下的义务。与旅行安排一样,员工应保存所有付款和相关情况文件,以防发生任何争议。

 

航班限制

 

3月26日,中国民用航空局规定,国内每家航空公司经营至任一国家的航线只能保留1条,且每条航线每周运营班次不得超过1班;外国每家航空公司经营至我国的航线只能保留1条,且每周运营班次不得超过1班。该限制已延长至10月,大大减少了外籍人士入境人数。多家外国航空公司已申请经营入境航班,但尚未收到回复。

 

由此造成的机票短缺促使需求急剧增加,从而导致机票价格相对平时高出许多,特别是直飞航班。强烈建议旅客在预订航班时仔细检查所有细节,并综合考虑所有限制。

 

双通道入境

 

若用人单位能够证明外籍员工是必要人员(其在中国现场工作是业务正常运营的绝对必要条件),并且是与中国签署了快速通道旅行禁令豁免协议国家(如法国和德國)的公民,则其和其家属可返回上海及其周边省份,隔离48小时后可回到工作岗位。

 

按正常通道返回的员工及其家属回国后必须接受14天的隔离。与中国签署了快速通道协议国家的公民,如获准返回中国,其需隔离的时间会相对减少,最少可只进行48小时的隔离,但之后其所在公司需对其实施为期两周的特殊生活和工作安排。

 

特殊签证申请须提交至上海市人民政府外事办公室,申请成功者必须做好回国员工的隔离安排工作,包括居家隔离(在与邻近住所完全分离的住宅单元内进行隔离),以及工作地点和居所间往返交通隔离(派指定司机用私家车接送),为期两周。

 

获准回国的员工将获发特别签证,抵达上海后立即接受血液检查,并进行隔离。按正常通道回国的员工须接受14天的强制隔离,而法国和德国等某些国家的公民最短可只进行48小时的隔离。隔离期的长短主要取决于员工国籍国与中国签署的快速通道协议,按正常通道回国的员工,需接受48小时到14天不等的隔离。

 

如果您对在当前情况下返回中国或申请外籍员工回国有任何疑问,欢迎随时联系我们获取帮助。

聯絡我們

香港

地址:香港干諾道中148號粵海投資大廈10樓

 

電話:(+ 852)2541 6632

傳真:(+ 852)2541 9339

電郵: info@fungyucpa.com

发送
您的留言已发送!
请重试或通过电子邮件与我们联系。

上海

地址:中國上海市靜安區北京西路1701號靜安中華大廈1206室

 

電話:(+ 8621)6289 8813

傳真:(+ 8621)6289 8816

電郵: info.sh@fungyucpa.com

发送
您的留言已发送!
请重试或通过电子邮件与我们联系。

廣州

地址:中國廣州市中山二路3號(東山口)粵運大廈11樓D-E室

 

電話:(+ 8620)8762 0508 

傳真:(+ 8620)3762 0543

電郵: info.gz@fungyucpa.com

发送
您的留言已发送!
请重试或通过电子邮件与我们联系。

北京

地址:中國北京市朝陽區光華路12號數碼01大廈2005室

 

電話:(+ 8610)6591 8087

傳真:(+ 8610) 8599 9882

電郵: info.bj@fungyucpa.com

发送
您的留言已发送!
请重试或通过电子邮件与我们联系。

巴黎

法国巴黎康帮路20号
邮编75001

 

電話:(+33)1 44 50 40 55

電郵:info.fr@fungyucpa.com

发送
您的留言已发送!
请重试或通过电子邮件与我们联系。

卢森堡

12 rue Jean Engling

L-1466 Luxembourg

 

Tel: (352) 2740 6430

Email: info@harriscorps.lu

发送
您的留言已发送!
请重试或通过电子邮件与我们联系。

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.

Re-entering the PRC for French and EU Citizens

Highlight:

 

  • Housing and employment rights in China are protected under PRC law, even if expatriates are unable to return due to the travel ban and flight restrictions.
  • Flight tickets may be expensive and difficult to book due to restrictions on the number of inbound flights.
  • Employers can apply for a special visa to bring important employees back to Shanghai and its surrounding provinces, and citizens of some countries, such as France and Germany, would be quarantined for 48 hours instead of the standard 2 weeks.

 

As the People’s Republic of China reopens for business, following the nationwide recovery from the pandemic across all provinces, many expatriate employees and entrepreneurs, particularly French and EU citizens holding work permits, have found themselves stranded outside the country. In the wake of lockdowns, airport closures and travel restrictions, including the March 28th travel ban on foreign arrivals to the PRC and restriction on inbound flights, expatriates who have traveled abroad may not be able to return to China until international pandemic control measures are lifted.

 

The situation is notably distressing to many individuals who have been left without clarity regarding their employment status, legal rights and individual responsibilities amid the chaos sweeping governments, embassies and international airports around the world. In some cases, expatriates in Europe have been separated from their families and loved ones in China. Meanwhile, some business operations may require the immediate return of essential employees.

 

Considering this, we would like to inform expatriates working and doing business in China about their inalienable rights under employment and housing law, as well as the two-channel entry system for foreign employees to return to Shanghai and its neighboring provinces and resume work, pending a health check, in as little as 48 hours. In most cases, China’s legal system ensures that there is little cause for concern, and returning to the country should be a seamless process.

 

Employment Rights

 

According to special legislation regarding labor rights passed in January 2020, (Notification of Proper Handling of Labor Relations during the Prevention and Control of COVID-19 pneumonia) employers are required to continue paying the salaries of employees who are unable to work due to quarantine measures or any other emergency measures. The Ministry of Human Resource and Social Security issued a guidance document for employers that permits counting days of missed work against paid leave, recommends the negotiation of delayed salary payments, and allows companies to place employees on unpaid leave as a last resort.

 

In most cases, employees should be able to work remotely, and are therefore protected against termination or non-payment of wages. In most cases, the worst-case scenario would be unpaid leave. Foreign employees are legally considered to be unable to return to work due to circumstances related to the epidemic, rather than absent from work, and therefore cannot be terminated for missing work due to travel restrictions, lockdowns or quarantine measures.

 

Employees should nonetheless be able to provide documentation of their travel arrangements and all related circumstances, including flight tickets, evidence that flights have been canceled, and any government notices that affect their ability to travel. In the event of any dispute, the government’s view is that employment stabilization is the highest priority and most preferred scenario to be negotiated towards.

 

Housing Rights

 

In cases where the employer signs a rental lease on behalf of the foreign employee for their housing requirements in China, the employer is liable to pay the rent regardless of the employee’s presence in the country, unless they are able to negotiate with the landlord. If the lease is terminated due to the employer’s failure to pay rent, employees may not have the legal right to access the premises. Expatriates living under employer provided rental housing should contact their landlords ahead of time in order to ensure that their personal property can be collected and stored safely in the event of their lease being terminated.

 

For expatriate employees who have signed a lease with their landlord with a housing allowance provided by their employer, the employee would be responsible for the monthly rent under the terms of the lease even if the employer withholds housing allowance funds or refuses to reimburse rental payments. In such cases, the expatriate employee can legally pursue claims against the employer, although they are still responsible for their obligations under the lease. As with travel arrangements, documentation of all payments and circumstances should be kept in case of any dispute.

 

Flight Restrictions

 

On March 26th, the Civil Aviation Administration of China (CAAC) restricted inbound flights to the country to one flight per week, per foreign country for Chinese airlines and one weekly flight for foreign airlines. These restrictions have been extended until October, resulting in a dramatic reduction to the number of foreign arrivals in the PRC. Several foreign airlines that have applied for permission to operate inbound flights have not yet received a response.

 

This resulting scarcity of available tickets has sharply increased demand, and fares may be considerably higher than usual, particularly for direct flights. It is highly recommended that travelers double check all details carefully when booking flights, considering the restrictions in place. 

 

Two Channel Re-entry

 

Expatriate employees, as well as their families, who are citizens of countries that have signed a fast track travel-ban exemption agreement with China, such as France, could be eligible to return to work in Shanghai and its surrounding provinces within 48 hours if their employer is able to demonstrate that they are essential personnel, and their presence in China is absolutely required for the proper functioning of business operations. 

 

Employees and families returning under the regular channel must undergo a 14 day quarantine upon return to the PRC. Citizens of countries that have signed a fast track agreement with the PRC, if granted permission to return to the country, will be placed in quarantine for shorter periods, in some cases as little as 48 hours, after which their companies will be required to implement special living and working arrangements for a two week period.

 

Applications should be filed at the Shanghai Foreign Affairs Office (FAO) and successful applicants will have to make arrangements for returning employees to be placed under closed circuit arrangements, which include being housed separately (i.e. in a residential unit completely separated from neighboring residences) and transported between their place of work and residence in a private car with a designated driver, for a period of two weeks.

 

Employees that are granted permission to return will be issued a special visa and undergo blood tests and be quarantined upon arrival in Shanghai. Employees returning under the regular channel face a mandatory quarantine of period 14 days, while French and German citizens are eligible for a 48-hour quarantine period. The quarantine period depends on the fast track agreement signed by the employee’s country of citizenship. Some countries have a period of longer than 48 hours but less than the 14 days required under the regular channel.

 

Should you have any further questions regarding returning to China or bringing employees back to China under the current circumstances, we are always available to help.

Contact

Hong Kong

10/F., Guangdong Investment Tower,

148 Connaught Road Central,

Hong Kong

 

Tel: +852 2541-6632

Fax: +852 2541-9339

Email: info@fungyucpa.com

Send
Your message has been sent!
Please try again or contact us by email.

Shanghai

Suite 1206, Jing’an China Tower,

1701 Beijing Road West,

Jing’an District, Shanghai, PRC

 

Tel: +86 21 6289 8813
Fax: +86 21 6289 8816
Email: info.sh@fungyucpa.com

Send
Your message has been sent!
Please try again or contact us by email.

Guangzhou

Flat D, 11/F, Yueyun Building,

3 Zhongshan 2nd Road,

Guangzhou, PRC

 

Tel: +86 20 8762 0508

Fax: +86 20 3762 1108

Email: info.gz@fungyucpa.com

Send
Your message has been sent!
Please try again or contact us by email.

Beijing

Room 2005, E-Tower,

No.12 Guanghua Road,

Chaoyang District,

Beijing, PRC 100020

 

Tel: +86 10 6591 8087

Fax: +86 10 8599 9882

Email: info.bj@fungyucpa.com

Send
Your message has been sent!
Please try again or contact us by email.

Paris

20 Rue Cambon
75001 Paris, France

 

Tel: (+33) 1 44 50 40 55

Email: info.fr@fungyucpa.com

Send
Your message has been sent!
Please try again or contact us by email.

Luxembourg

12 rue Jean Engling

L-1466 Luxembourg

 

Tel: (352) 2740 6430

Email: info@harriscorps.lu

Send
Your message has been sent!
Please try again or contact us by email.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.